[NotiAMCA] CCGrid2004

Victorio Sonzogni sonzogni@ceride.gov.ar
Thu, 30 Oct 2003 08:18:58 -0300

Dear All,

Please find enclosed Call for Papers (CFP) for CCGrid 2004. Please consider
submitting your original research papers on cluster/grid computing to this
conference. The paper submission due date is Nov 10, 2003.

Please share the below CFP with your friends and colleagues.

Thanks for your support.

CCGrid2004: 4th IEEE International Symposium on Cluster Computing and 
the Grid

Chicago, Illinois, USA
19-22 April



In 20 years from 1970 to 1990 the Internet and the UNIX operating system
became ubiquitous in computer science laboratories and major
universities.  During the 10 years from 1990 to 2000, the Internet emerged
as a global information utility, commodity microprocessors fueled the
establishment of clusters as computing platforms, and open source Linux
became a mainstream operating system.  "Metacomputers," the concept of
combining networked resources into distributed virtual computers, grew into
the concept of "The Grid" with the vision that those distributed resources
would be as straightforward to build and use as the ubiquitous electrical
power grid.

Today we are seeing a convergence of extremes.  Terascale computers created
from Open Source Linux commodity clusters.  Multi-Gigabit/second networks
providing higher bandwidth in the WAN than in the LAN, offering the
possibility of providing applications with the effective illusion of
"unlimited bandwidth."  Open Grid Services Architecture, combining Web
services designed to scale to millions of endpoints with High Performance
Grid concepts designed to scale to TeraFlops endpoints.

CCGrid2004, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society (final approval
pending), is designed to bring together international leaders who are
pioneering researchers, developers, and users of extreme clusters,
networks, and Grid architectures and applications. The symposium will also
serve as a forum to present the latest work, and highlight related
activities from around the world.

CCGRid2004 is interested in topics including, but not limited to:

* Hardware and Software (based on PCs, Workstations, SMPs or Supercomputers)
* Middleware for Clusters and Grids
* Dynamic Optical Network Architectures for Grid Computing
* Parallel File Systems, including wide area file systems, and Parallel I/O
* Scheduling and Load Balancing
* Programming Models, Tools, and Environments
* Performance Evaluation and Modeling
* Resource Management and Scheduling
* Computational, Data, and Information Grid Architectures and Systems
* Grid Economies, Service Architectures, and Resource Exchange Architectures
* Grid-based Problem Solving Environments
* Scientific, Engineering, and Commercial Grid Applications
* Portal Computing / Science Portals

---------- PAPER SUBMISSION ----------

Authors are invited to submit papers of not more than 8 pages of double
column text using single spaced 10 point size type on 8.5 x 11 inch pages,
as per IEEE 8.5 x 11 manuscript  guidelines, see:

Authors should submit a PostScript (level 2) or PDF file that will print on
a PostScript printer. Paper submission instructions will be placed on:

Queries may be directed to the PC chair:
          Pete Beckman (Beckman@mcs.anl.gov).

It is expected that the proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer
Society Press, USA.

---------- WORKSHOPS/SPECIAL SESSIONS ----------

We invite proposals for organizing workshops or special sessions as part of
CCGrid2004. These special events are expected to be highly specialized and
focused, and all selected papers will be published in the CCGrid2004
proceedings. Those interested in organizing workshops or special sessions,
please contact:
          Craig Lee (lee@aero.org), workshops/special sessions chair

Those interested in proposing exhibits or tutorials, please contact:
          Steve Crumb (scrumb@ggf.org), tutorials chair

---------- CHAIRS & COMMITTEES ----------

Conference General Chairs
Charlie Catlett, Argonne National Laboratory, USA and Global Grid Forum
Pete Beckman, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Honorary Chair
Ian Foster, Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago, USA

Program Committee Chair
Pete Beckman, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Program Committee Vice-Chairs
David Abramson, Monash University, Australia
Sameer Shende (Univ Oregon, USA)

---------- IMPORTANT DATES ----------

10 Nov 2003    Papers Due
1  Dec 2003    Workshop/Tutorial/Exhibit Proposals Due
20 Dec 2003    Notification of Paper Acceptance
19 Jan 2004    Camera Ready Papers Due


David Abramson (Monash Univ., Australia)
Greg Astfalk (Hewlett-Packard, USA)
Ruth Aydt (NCSA, USA)
Henri Bal (Vrije Univ., The Netherlands)
Pete Beckman (ANL, USA)
Taisuke Boku (Univ. Tsukuba, Japan)
Ron Brightwell (Sandia Nat'l Laboratory, USA)
Rajkumar Buyya (Univ. Melbourne, Australia)
Charlie Catlett (Argonne NL, USA)
Giovanni Chiola (Universit di Genova, Italy)
Susan Coghlan (Argonne Nat'l Laboratory, USA)
Steve Crumb (GGF, USA)
Andreas Dilger (Cluster File Systems, Canada)
Ian Foster (Argonne NL & Univ. Chicago, USA)
Dennis Gannon (Indiana Univ., USA)
Andrew S. Grimshaw (University of Virginia, USA)
Jon "maddog" Hall (Linux International, USA)
Tony Hey (EPSRC, Great Britain)
Marty Humphrey (Univ. Virginia, USA)
Satoshi Itoh (AIST, Japan)
William Johnston (NASA/LBL, USA)
Thilo Kielmann (Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Barbara Kucera (Univ of Kentucky, USA)
Domenico Laforenza (ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy)
Craig A. Lee (The Aerospace Corp., USA)
Timothy Mattson (Intel Co., USA)
Satoshi Matsuoka (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan)
Andre Merzky (ZIB, Germany)
Bill Nitzberg (Veridian Co., USA)
Joerg Nolte (Brandenburg University of Technology, Germany)
Philip Papadopoulos (SDSC, USA)
Rob Pennington (NCSA, USA)
Ira Pramanick (Sun Microsystems, USA)
Thierry Priol (IRISA, Campus Universitaire de Beaulieu, France)
Alexander Reinefeld (Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany)
Paul Roe (Queensland Univ. of Tech., Australia)
Joel Saltz (Ohio State Univ., USA)
Jenny Schopf (ANL, USA)
Sameer Shende (Univ Oregon, USA)
Derek Simmel (PSC, USA)
Osamu Tatebe (AIST, Japan)
Kenjiro Taura (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
Putchong Uthayopas (Kasetsart Univ., Thailand)
Richard M. Wolski (UCSB, USA)

Mark Baker, University of Portsmouth, UK
Henri Bal, Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam,The Netherlands
Rajkumar Buyya (coordinator/chair), University of Melbourne, Australia
Franck Capello, University of Paris-Sud, Paris, France
Charlie Catlett, Argonne National Laboratory, USA and Global Grid Forum
Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee (UTK) and ORNL, Knoxville, USA
Ian Foster, Argonne National Laboratory and University of Chicago, USA
Wolfgang Gentzsch, Sun Microsystems, Palo Alto, USA
Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
Craig Lee, The Aerospace Corporation, Los Angeles, USA
Laurent Lefevre, INRIA, Lyon, France
Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Alexander Reinefeld, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum, Berlin, Germany
Satoshi Sekiguchi, AIST, Tsukuba, Japan
David Walker, University of Wales Cardiff, UK