[NotiAMCA] IACM Awards

Victorio E. Sonzogni sonzogni@intec.unl.edu.ar
Mon, 10 May 2004 11:35:20 -0300

Call for Nominations for

                                IACM Awards

The International Association for Computational Mechanics announces five
awards to recognize outstanding contributions in computational mechanics:

The IACM Award is given in recognition of outstanding and sustained
contributions to the broad field of computational mechanics.  These
contributions shall generally be in the form of important research results
which significantly advance the understanding of theories and methods
impacting computational mechanics, but special individual contributions in
leadership and administration, industrial applications, and engineering
analysis that advance computational mechanics shall also represent
accomplishments worthy of recognition.

The IACM Award for Computational Mechanics will be given for contributions
to traditional areas, such as computational structural mechanics and
computational fluid dynamics, but may also be given to recognize
contributions outside these specific areas.  For example, the Award may be
given in recognition of accomplishments in software development, scientific
computing, research contributions in computational electromagnetics, semi-
conductor device simulation, biomechanics or other areas not traditionally
embraced by computational structural mechanics and fluid dynamics but which
have general applicability to computational mechanics.

The IACM Award for Young Investigators in Computational Mechanics
recognizes outstanding accomplishments, particularly outstanding published
papers, by researchers 40 or younger.  Eligibility requires that the
nominee not turn 41 in the year the award is presented.

The Fellows Award recognized individuals with a distinguished record of
research, accomplishment and publication in areas of computational
mechanics and demonstrated support of the IACM through membership and
participation in the Association, its meetings and activities.

The IACM Congress Medal (Gauss-Newton Medal) is the highest award given by
IACM.  It honors individuals who have made outstanding, sustained
contributions in the field of computational mechanics generally over
periods representing substantial portions of their professional careers.
The medal is bronze and carries the images of Newton and Gauss in
recognition of the synergy between mathematics, numerical analysis, and
mathematical modeling of physical events that underpin much of the broad
field of computational mechanics.

General guidelines and features of the awards are listed as follows:

Eligibility.  All recipients shall be members in good standing of the
International Association for Computational Mechanics.

Frequency.  The awards shall not be given more frequently than once every
two years.  In Beijing, China, September 5-9, 2004 the awards will be given
at the World Congress.

Nominations.  The IACM Awards Committee, appointed by the Executive
Council, solicits nominations from the IACM Membership.  Nominators may
nominate no more than one individual for each of the awards, with the
exception of the Fellows Award in which case two individuals may be
nominated, during the two-year interval between World Congresses.  Self-
nominations are not accepted.  Nominators are invited to submit a one-page
maximum combined nominating statement/vita in support of the nominee.  The
Awards Committee shall select candidate winners of each award and provide
its recommendations of recipients to the IACM Executive Council, which
shall select the awardees.

The Awards Committee consists of twenty-eight appointees and the most
recent winners of each award.  The past awardees who are not among the
twenty-eight appointees are eligible to vote only for the awards which they
received, with the exception of the Fellows Award.  It is the
responsibility of the Awards Committee to make all preparations for the
selection and presentation of the awards to awardees at the IACM Congress.
If a member of the Awards Committee is nominated for an award that member
is ineligible to vote for that award and is otherwise removed entirely from
the selection of that award.

Call for Nominations.  All members of IACM in good standing are invited to
submit nominations to the Awards Committee Chairman: Professor Thomas J.R.
Hughes, The University of Texas at Austin, ICES, 201 East 24th Street, ACES
6.412, 1 University Station C0200, Austin, TX 78712-0027,

The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2004.